On this page
Bellrail DLTC: renew your driver's licence card (2026)
Last checked: 31 October 2026 (SAST). Lines marked ⚠️ are undated or not confirmed on an official page. Check those with the City before you go.
New to renewing? Read the national guide first: How to renew your driver's licence at a South African licensing centre. It covers the documents, the eye test, temporary licences, NaTIS booking, card collection and common errors. This page covers only what's specific to Bellrail DLTC in Bellville: address, hours, Cape Town fees, the walk-in queue, all-code tests, and which office to use for a vehicle disc.
1. Who this is for
- You live or work in Bellville, Oakdale, Boston, Bellville South, or the northern suburbs around Bellrail Road.
- You want to renew your driver's licence card at Bellrail, or decide whether Parow, Brackenfell or Goodwood is a better bet.
- You need a learner's test or a driving test. Bellrail tests all driving codes, including heavy vehicles and motorcycles (see §4 and §7). Goodwood and Brackenfell publish Code B only.
- Learner's tests, driving tests, roadworthy tests and vehicle licence discs use different rules. Test booking waits are in §7 so you don't mix them up with the renewal queue.
Card renewals and vehicle discs are different offices.
- Bellrail Driving Licence Testing Centre, Bellrail Road, Bellville: licence card renewals, learner's tests, driving tests for all codes, PrDP applications, and the other services in §4. No street number or postal code on the City page. (City DLTC page)
- Bellville Vehicle Registration Centre, Reed Street, Bellville: vehicle registration, vehicle licensing and licence disc payments. Weekdays 08:00–15:30, Saturday until 11:30 (earlier than the DLTC). The City page, read on 31 Oct 2026, still says this office "will be closed for approximately six weeks from Monday, 16 February 2026" for maintenance. No later City release was found that says it has reopened. Phone 0860 103 089 before you go there for a disc. The February release named Parow (Voortrekker Road) and Goodwood MVRL (Hugo Street) as alternatives during the closure. (City MVR page, City release, 9 Feb 2026)
2. Disclaimer
General information from public sources, checked 31 October 2026. Not legal advice. Not an official City of Cape Town, Western Cape Government or RTMC page. Check the official links below or call the City before you go.
3. Quick facts
| Centre | Bellrail Driving Licence Testing Centre (City of Cape Town) |
| Address | Bellrail Road, Bellville. No street number or postal code on the City page. |
| Phone | 0860 103 089 (City traffic enquiries line, not a direct line to the centre) |
| [email protected] | |
| Hours | Mon–Fri 08:00–15:30 · Sat 08:00–12:30 (SAST) |
| Sunday / late nights | None published on the DLTC page. A map listing checked the same day shows Sunday closed. Assume closed. |
| Public holidays | Not stated on the DLTC page ⚠️. Assume closed. |
| Card renewals? | Yes. "Licence renewals" is a listed service. |
| Booking or walk-in? | Walk-in. NaTIS eQueue doesn't cover the Western Cape (why). The City's online bookings are for municipal accounts and vehicle discs, not licence cards. |
| Fee (City of Cape Town) | R140 if your licence is still valid; R185 if it has already expired. Temporary licence R45. ⚠️ Undated on the fee page. See §4. |
| Plan for | The City says 2–3 hours for a licence application or renewal. Public reports from Feb and Mar 2026 describe queues of several hours and one working eye-test machine (unverified, and they do not all say the visit was a card renewal). |
Sources: City – Bellrail DLTC, City – Learners and drivers licences, City – renewal fees.
Getting there: search "Bellrail Traffic Department" or "Bellrail Road, Bellville" in a map app. The City does not publish parking, a bus stop, or a postal code ⚠️. Directories often spell the road Belrail. A map listing checked the same day gives Belrail Rd, Transnet, 7530, in the Hillrise area (listing). A K53 directory gives the same street line and the plus code 3JVW+HM (K53 South Africa). 7530, "Transnet" and that plus code are not on the City page.
Hours caveat: use the City's 08:00–15:30 and Saturday 12:30. The map listing shows those hours and Sunday closed. InfoGov instead says weekdays open at 07:30, Saturday closes at 12:00, and that Saturday is renewals, collections and payments only, with no tests (InfoGov). The K53 page shows weekdays only, with no Saturday hours. The 07:30 opening, the 12:00 Saturday close, and the "no tests on Saturday" rule are not on the City page. Ignore them unless the City publishes them.
Phone caveat: directories list 021 918 2116 and 021 918 2041 (DriveSchool; InfoGov lists 021 918 2116), 021 918 2268 and [email protected] (K53), and 021 940 0203 (the map listing, also given by K53 as an alternative). None of those numbers, or that email, are on the City page. Use 0860 103 089 and [email protected].
There is no official queue cut-off. Doors at 15:30 do not mean a renewal started at 15:20 will be taken. Arrive early. A public review dated 7 Feb 2026 says the writer had been in the queue since 08:00 and was told at 10:30 that anyone not inside by 11:00 would not be helped, because only one eye-testing device was working. The review does not say whether that visit was a card renewal. ⚠️
Load-shedding: the City's DLTC index says some centres are affected and to check the facility's zone first. That index, read on 31 Oct 2026, does not name a zone for Bellrail. ⚠️ (City DLTC index)
4. What's different in Cape Town, and at this centre
The full national document list is on the hub page. City of Cape Town specifics, from the renewal page as read on 31 Oct 2026:
- Photos: the City asks for 1 recent ID photo if your licence is still valid, and 2 if it has expired. Western Cape Government asks for 2, plus an extra 2 if you need a temporary licence because the card has expired. Take 4 identical photos so either rule is covered.
- Proof of address: bring it. The City links a Verification Documents Guideline (the file on that page is dated 01/09/2020). WCG says the proof must be under 3 months old and in the applicant's name.
- Form DL1 is linked on the City renewal page (the file date shown there is 07/01/2005). Bring a pen. WCG says to complete DL1 at the centre.
- Eye test and fingerprints are done at the DLTC. The City pages we checked do not list a separate eye-test fee. Whether a private optometrist's report is accepted in the Western Cape is unclear ⚠️ (see hub §7). Bring your glasses. The 7 Feb 2026 review above is the only recent public report we found that mentions the eye-test equipment at Bellrail, and it describes a single machine.
- Payment method for the card fee is not stated on the renewal page. The City's fine page says traffic centres take cash, debit or credit card, and postal orders for fines. That is not written as the rule for the licence-card cashier. ⚠️
Fees at City of Cape Town centres (pages read 31 Oct 2026)
| Item | Amount | Source | Confidence |
|---|---|---|---|
| Card issue (renewing before expiry) | R140 | City renewal page; WCG price box | Medium. Both pages still show R140. Neither dates the tariff ⚠️ |
| Renewal after expiry | R185 | City renewal page | Medium-low. One figure, not broken down. WCG does not publish R185; it says ask the centre ⚠️ |
| Temporary driving licence | R45 | City renewal page; WCG; City statement, 9 Apr 2025 | Medium. The fee pages are undated. The April 2025 statement prices the temporary at R45 when you renew after expiry ⚠️ |
| Replacement of a lost or stolen card | R185, plus two ID photos | City renewal page, "Replace a lost or stolen driver's licence card" | Medium. This is not the ordinary renewal fee ⚠️ |
The City renewal page does not say whether the R185 already includes the R45 temporary licence. The 9 April 2025 statement treats the R45 as the cost of the temporary licence you need if you renew after the card has expired. Budget both if your card has expired, and ask at the cashier. ⚠️
The same April 2025 statement says that, under the National Road Traffic Act, an expired card stays valid for three months from the expiry date if you applied before it expired, and you keep the expired card and the proof of payment. That matches the RTMC rule on the hub. WCG and the City renewal page both say there is currently no penalty for a late renewal. If you apply after expiry, get the temporary licence.
This building is not a renewals-only queue
The City lists these services at Bellrail, as well as licence renewals: driving licence tests, learner's licence tests, professional licence tests, fine payments, roadworthy tests, disabled-disc applications, licence replacements, PrDP applications, driving-instructor applications, cellphone-impoundment payments, hawkers' impoundment payments, and AARTO infringement payments.
Three limits on that list:
- Driving tests are for all codes. The City page says "Bellrail DLTC provides driving licence tests for all driving codes." As at 26 October 2026, Bellrail appears on the learner's, light-vehicle, heavy-vehicle and motorcycle waiting-time tables (City waiting times). The same page still lists professional licence tests and PrDP applications. ⚠️ It does not say whether a PrDP test here is limited to a particular code.
- Fines. The Bellrail DLTC page lists fine payments. The City's separate fine page, read the same day, lists traffic centres that take in-person payments and does not name Bellrail (it does name Brackenfell and Milnerton, among others). ⚠️ If you are going only to pay a fine, phone 0860 103 089 first. Admin marks are a different job: the fine page says to clear one in person at Gallows Hills DLTC in Green Point, not at Bellrail. Phone 0860 103 089 option 4, or 021 444 3311, or email [email protected]. (City – Pay your traffic fine, Gallows Hill guide)
- Roadworthy tests are on the Bellrail DLTC list. They are also on the City's Bellville walk-in centre page, which gives the address as Reed Street, not Bellrail Road, with different hours (Mon–Fri 08:00–16:00, Sat 08:00–12:30). ⚠️ The City does not say which counter actually does the roadworthy. A roadworthy is not part of a card renewal. If that is the only reason you are going, phone 0860 103 089 and ask which building to use. (Bellville walk-in centre)
5. How a visit to Bellrail goes
For the national step-by-step, see the hub. The City does not publish the order of windows at Bellrail, so this is the documented process plus what recent public reports describe. Reports are unverified.
- Go before the card expires if you can. The City publishes R140 before expiry and R185 after. A temporary licence is a separate line at R45. The City does not say whether the R185 already includes that R45 (see §4).
- Do not book a "licence renewal" on the City's appointment site and expect to skip the queue. On the renewal page, online booking is for registering or renewing a motor vehicle licence, paying a municipal account, enquiries, or account arrangements (bookings.capetown.gov.za). Treat the card renewal as walk-in. The City's 8 Feb 2025 release says an online appointment system has been piloted in certain provinces, and that card renewals in Cape Town can be done at any metro DLTC. It does not put Bellrail card renewals on a booking system.
- Arrive before 08:00 on a weekday, or early Saturday (the published Saturday close is 12:30). The City says to set aside 2–3 hours. Public reviews on a map listing, dated 7 Feb 2026, 9 Feb 2026, 10 Feb 2026 and 7 Mar 2026, describe waits of several hours, queue-jumping, and one slow cashier. The 7 Feb review is the one that mentions a single eye-test machine and an informal 11:00 cut-off for people still outside. None of those reviews state that the visit was a driver's licence card renewal. A review dated 17 Sep 2025 describes a learner's theory test and friendly staff. Those are single reports. They are not a City standard.
- Take the documents in §4, your current card, and a pen.
- Eye test, photo and fingerprints, then pay. Keep the receipt. If the card is already expired, ask for the temporary driving licence at the same time. The City says a temporary licence is valid for six months or until the new card is issued. Do not rely on a private optometrist's certificate to skip the eye test (see §4).
- Leave. The card is printed nationally and comes back to this centre. You cannot collect a Bellrail application at Parow, Goodwood, Brackenfell, or the Reed Street vehicle registration counter.
Collection: come back to Bellrail DLTC with your ID once the card is ready. Check first by SMS or on NaTIS (hub §8). The City destroys cards not collected within 120 days.
Disc and registration queues are not this queue. Use the Reed Street vehicle registration centre for a disc, and read the closure notice in §1 before you travel. The Brackenfell vehicle-licence drive-through (card only; weekdays 10:00–18:00, Saturdays 09:00–14:00) was named in the February 2026 closure release for licence disc payments, not for driver's licence cards.
Saturday: the City DLTC page publishes Saturday hours and does not say that renewals stop on Saturday. InfoGov's claim that Saturday is renewals and payments only, with no tests, is not on the City page. ⚠️ If you are here for a test, phone 0860 103 089 before you rely on a Saturday slot.
6. If something goes wrong at Bellrail
General errors (NaTIS "province not added", eNaTIS outages, card delays) are on the hub. Local escalation:
- Centre supervisor or manager on the spot. The City says complaints "may be lodged with the management of each DLTC" (City).
- City Traffic Services: 0860 103 089 / [email protected]. Have your receipt number, date and time ready.
- Admin mark specifically: this is not a Bellrail counter. 0860 103 089 option 4 / 021 444 3311 / [email protected], in person at Gallows Hills (fine page).
- Western Cape Government driving licence helpdesk: 021 483 0520 / 6401 / 2469 / 2080 / 2078 (WCG).
No Bellrail-specific outage notice was found for late October 2026. A public review dated 13 Jan 2026 says the payment system had been offline for more than three working days. That is one person's report from January, not a current City notice. The countrywide eNaTIS outage on 6 Oct 2026 would have stopped card renewals here along with every other centre.
The older Western Cape Government facility page for Bellrail returned 404 on 31 Oct 2026, so it is not linked below. Use the City page.
Never pay "runners" or anyone outside the official cashier.
7. Is Bellrail the right centre? Nearby alternatives
You can renew a card at any City of Cape Town DLTC (City release, 8 Feb 2025), but you collect where you applied. Bellrail is the City's centre on Bellrail Road in Bellville, and it is one of the centres that tests every code. These other centres also list licence renewals. Parow and Brackenfell hours below were read on their City pages on 31 Oct 2026 and match Bellrail. Goodwood's hours were last read for this site on 30 Oct 2026, and Milnerton's on 26 Oct 2026.
| Centre | Address | Guide | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Goodwood DLTC | Cnr Frans Conradie and Hugo streets, Goodwood | Renewal guide | City |
| Parow DLTC | Cnr Jan Smuts Street and Beacon Road, Parow Valley | Coming | City |
| Brackenfell DLTC | Cnr Kruispad and Reservoir Street, Brackenfell | Coming | City |
| Milnerton DLTC | William Penn Drive, Milnerton | Renewal guide | City |
Parow's City page, read the same day, also says it tests all driving codes. Brackenfell's page says driving tests are for Code B (light motor vehicles) only, while still listing professional licence tests and PrDP applications. ⚠️ It does not say whether a PrDP test at Brackenfell is limited to Code B. Goodwood's City page, when it was read on 30 Oct 2026, limits driving tests to Code B in the same way (Goodwood guide).
All Western Cape centres: /licensing/western-cape/.
About the City's "waiting times" table: those weekly figures are for learner's and driving test bookings, not card renewals. The page, read on 31 Oct 2026, is still headed "as at 26 October 2026":
| Centre | Learner's | Light vehicle | Heavy vehicle | Motorcycle |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bellrail | 23 days | 36 days | 21 days | 20 days |
| Parow | 43 | 82 | 83 | 37 |
| Brackenfell | 44 | 14 | not listed | not listed |
| Goodwood | 41 | 79 | not listed | not listed |
| Milnerton | 65 | 29 | 28 | 34 |
(City waiting times). Useful if you are booking a test. They say nothing about the renewal queue on the day you walk in. In December 2024 the City reported Bellrail's driving-licence test turnaround as 10 days (City release, 8 Feb 2025). That figure is older than the 26 Oct 2026 table.
8. Sources (last checked 31 Oct 2026, SAST)
Official:
- City of Cape Town, Bellrail DLTC (address, hours, all-code tests, services, phone): https://www.capetown.gov.za/family-and-home/see-all-city-facilities/our-service-facilities/drivers-licence-testing-centres/bellrail-driving-licence-testing-centre/
- City of Cape Town, DLTC index (18 centres; load-shedding note; no zone named for Bellrail): https://www.capetown.gov.za/local-and-communities/see-all-city-facilities/our-service-facilities/drivers-licence-testing-centres/
- City of Cape Town, Bellville Vehicle Registration Centre (Reed Street; Sat 11:30; February 2026 closure notice still on the page): https://www.capetown.gov.za/family-and-home/see-all-city-facilities/our-service-facilities/motor-vehicle-registration-centres/bellville-vehicle-registration-centre/
- City of Cape Town, Bellville MVRL closed for maintenance (9 Feb 2026; about six weeks from 16 Feb 2026; Parow and Goodwood named as alternatives; Brackenfell disc drive-through hours): https://www.capetown.gov.za/media-and-news/bellville-mvrl-closed-for-necessary-maintenance/
- City of Cape Town, Bellville Municipal Office walk-in centre (Reed Street; roadworthy tests and fine payments; Sat until 12:30): https://www.capetown.gov.za/explore-and-enjoy/see-all-city-facilities/our-service-facilities/cash-offices-and-walk-in-centres/bellville-municipal-office-walk-in-centre/
- City of Cape Town, renewal (documents, R140 / R185 / R45, DL1, 120-day note, online booking scope): https://www.capetown.gov.za/city-connect/apply/licences-and-permits/driving-and-vehicles/apply-for-a-new-or-replacement-drivers-licence/
- City of Cape Town, Learners and drivers licences (2–3 hours, 120-day destruction, complaints): https://www.capetown.gov.za/work-and-business/transport-and-vehicles/vehicles-and-driving/learner-and-drivers-licenses/
- City of Cape Town, Waiting times (page read 31 Oct 2026; table headed 26 Oct 2026): https://www.capetown.gov.za/family-and-home/transport-and-vehicles/vehicles-and-driving/waiting-times-for-drivers-licence-tests/
- City of Cape Town, Pay your traffic fine (named in-person list omits Bellrail; admin marks at Gallows Hills; payment methods for fines): https://www.capetown.gov.za/City-Connect/Pay/Driving-and-vehicles/Fines/Pay-your-traffic-fine
- City of Cape Town, "DLTCs drive to ease the wait" (8 Feb 2025; renewals at any City DLTC; Bellrail test wait in Dec 2024 was 10 days): https://www.capetown.gov.za/media-and-news/dltcs-drive-to-ease-the-wait/
- City of Cape Town, card-production delays (9 Apr 2025; three-month extension if you applied before expiry; temporary licence R45 after expiry): https://www.capetown.gov.za/media-and-news/city-frustrated-by-ongoing-driving-licence-card-renewal-woes/
- City online bookings: https://bookings.capetown.gov.za/
- Western Cape Government, Driving licence (R140 card issue, R45 temporary, photos, helpdesk, no late penalty): https://www.westerncape.gov.za/mobility/service/driving-licence
- City pages for Goodwood, Parow, Brackenfell and Milnerton DLTCs (links in §7)
Media / secondary (reported, not official):
- Aggregated public listing and reviews of Bellrail Driving License Test Centre (hours match the City; Sunday closed; reviews dated Sep 2025–Mar 2026; 379 reviews and a 3.7 rating on that page; phone 021 940 0203 and postal code 7530 are not on the City page): https://exa.ai/library/place/s0rp1c7yxwn
- K53 South Africa (021 918 2268, [email protected], weekday hours only, plus code 3JVW+HM; one approved review shown as "1 week ago" on 31 Oct 2026 about computers failing during a written test): https://k-53.co.za/test-centres/bellrail-dltc
- DriveSchool Cape Town traffic departments (021 918 2116 and 021 918 2041; road spelled Belrail; not on the City page): https://driveschool.co.za/cape-town-traffic-departments
- InfoGov (07:30 opening, Saturday until 12:00, Saturday services claim, 021 918 2116; conflicts with the City page): https://infogov.co.za/locations/bellville-bellrail-driving-licence-testing-centre-dltc/
The Western Cape Government facility URL https://d7.westerncape.gov.za/facility/bellrail-driving-licence-testing-centre returned 404 on 31 Oct 2026. It is omitted as a source.
National sources (eQueue, RTMC, gov.za, card printing) are on the hub page.