On this page
Goodwood DLTC: renew your driver's licence card (2026)
Last checked: 30 October 2026 (SAST). Lines marked ⚠️ are undated or not confirmed on an official page. Check those with the City before you go.
New to renewing? Read the national guide first: How to renew your driver's licence at a South African licensing centre. It covers the documents, the eye test, temporary licences, NaTIS booking, card collection and common errors. This page covers only what's specific to Goodwood DLTC: address, hours, Cape Town fees, the walk-in queue, and which office to use for a vehicle disc.
1. Who this is for
- You live or work in Goodwood, Monte Vista, Richmond Estate, Edgemead, Bothasig, or the northern suburbs around Vasco.
- You want to renew your driver's licence card at Goodwood, or decide whether another City centre is a better bet.
- You need a learner's test or a Code B (light motor vehicle) driving test. Goodwood does not publish heavy-vehicle or motorcycle test waits (see §4 and §7).
- Learner's tests, driving tests and vehicle licence discs use different rules. Test booking waits are in §7 so you don't mix them up with the renewal queue.
Card renewals and vehicle discs are different offices.
- Goodwood Driving Licence Testing Centre, corner of Frans Conradie and Hugo streets, Goodwood: licence card renewals, learner's tests, Code B driving tests, PrDP applications, fine payments. No street number or postal code on the City page. (City DLTC page)
- Goodwood Vehicle Registration Centre, Hugo Street, Goodwood: vehicle registration, vehicle licensing and licence disc payments. The City gives no street number, so it does not say whether this is the same building as the DLTC. Same weekday hours, Saturday until 12:30, and this page does say Sundays and public holidays are closed. (City MVR page)
2. Disclaimer
General information from public sources, checked 30 October 2026. Not legal advice. Not an official City of Cape Town, Western Cape Government or RTMC page. Check the official links below or call the City before you go.
3. Quick facts
| Centre | Goodwood Driving Licence Testing Centre (City of Cape Town) |
| Address | Cnr Frans Conradie and Hugo streets, Goodwood. No street number or postal code on the City page. |
| Phone | 0860 103 089 (City traffic enquiries line, not a direct line to the centre) |
| [email protected] | |
| Hours | Mon–Fri 08:00–15:30 · Sat 08:00–12:30 (SAST) |
| Sunday / late nights | None published on the DLTC page. A map listing checked the same day shows Sunday closed. Assume closed. |
| Public holidays | Not stated on the DLTC page ⚠️. The vehicle-registration page for Hugo Street says public holidays are closed. Assume the DLTC is closed. |
| Card renewals? | Yes. "Licence renewals" is a listed service. |
| Booking or walk-in? | Walk-in. NaTIS eQueue doesn't cover the Western Cape (why). The City's online bookings are for municipal accounts and vehicle discs, not licence cards. |
| Fee (City of Cape Town) | R140 if your licence is still valid; R185 if it has already expired. Temporary licence R45. ⚠️ Undated. See §4. |
| Plan for | The City says 2–3 hours for a licence application or renewal. Public reports of a card renewal in Feb 2026 and Jul 2026 describe about 30 minutes (unverified). Disc and registration queues are a different office. |
Sources: City – Goodwood DLTC, City – Learners and drivers licences, City – renewal fees.
Getting there: search "Goodwood Traffic Department" or "Frans Conradie and Hugo, Goodwood" in a map app. The City does not publish parking, a bus stop, or a postal code ⚠️. One aggregated listing gives Hugo Street and 7460 (listing). That postal code is not on the City page. A public review dated 3 May 2025 says finding parking was difficult. That is one person's report, not a City rule.
Hours caveat: use the City's 08:00–15:30 and Saturday 12:30. A map listing checked the same day shows those hours and Sunday closed (aggregated listing). That listing gives the phone number 021 444 7151. A driving-school directory gives 021 590 1570 and [email protected], and shows weekday hours only (K53 South Africa). The same number and email appear in a directory PDF whose file path is dated August 2025. None of those numbers, or that email, are on the City page. Ignore them unless the City publishes them.
There is no official queue cut-off. Doors at 15:30 do not mean a renewal started at 15:20 will be taken. Arrive early. One public review dated 12 Jan 2026 describes arriving at 15:10 and leaving at 15:30, but it does not say the visit was a card renewal. ⚠️
Load-shedding: the City's DLTC index says some centres are affected and to check the facility's zone first. That index does not name a zone for Goodwood. ⚠️ (City DLTC index)
4. What's different in Cape Town, and at this centre
The full national document list is on the hub page. City of Cape Town specifics, from the renewal page as read on 30 Oct 2026:
- Photos: the City asks for 1 recent ID photo if your licence is still valid, and 2 if it has expired. Western Cape Government asks for 2, plus an extra 2 if you need a temporary licence because the card has expired. Take 4 identical photos so either rule is covered.
- Proof of address: bring it. The City links a Verification Documents Guideline (the file on that page is dated 01/09/2020). WCG says the proof must be under 3 months old and in the applicant's name.
- Form DL1 is linked on the City renewal page (the file date shown there is 07/01/2005). Bring a pen. WCG says to complete DL1 at the centre.
- Eye test and fingerprints are done at the DLTC. The City pages we checked do not list a separate eye-test fee. Whether a private optometrist's report is accepted in the Western Cape is unclear ⚠️ (see hub §7). A Hellopeter review dated 24 Jul 2026 says Goodwood accepted an optometrist screening only after the person failed the eye test at the centre. That is one person's report. Bring your glasses.
- Payment method for the card fee is not stated on the renewal page. The City's fine page says traffic centres take cash, debit or credit card, and postal orders for fines. That is not written as the rule for the licence-card cashier. ⚠️
Fees at City of Cape Town centres (pages read 30 Oct 2026)
| Item | Amount | Source | Confidence |
|---|---|---|---|
| Card issue (renewing before expiry) | R140 | City renewal page; WCG price box | Medium. Both pages still show R140. Neither dates the tariff ⚠️ |
| Renewal after expiry | R185 | City renewal page | Medium-low. One figure, not broken down. WCG does not publish R185; it says ask the centre ⚠️ |
| Temporary driving licence | R45 | City renewal page; WCG | Medium. Undated on the page ⚠️ |
| Replacement of a lost or stolen card | R185, plus two ID photos | City renewal page, "Replace a lost or stolen driver's licence card" | Medium. This is not the ordinary renewal fee ⚠️ |
The City does not say whether the R185 already includes the R45 temporary licence. Budget both if your card has expired, and ask at the cashier. ⚠️
This building is not a renewals-only queue
The City lists these services at Goodwood, as well as licence renewals: driving licence tests, professional licence tests, fine payments, licence replacements, learner's licence tests, PrDP applications, disabled-disc applications, driving-instructor applications, AARTO infringement payments, and cellphone-impoundment payments.
Two limits on that list:
- Driving tests are Code B only. The City page says "Goodwood DLTC provides driving licence tests for Code B (light motor vehicles) only." The same page still lists professional licence tests and PrDP applications. ⚠️ It does not say whether a PrDP test here is limited to Code B. As at 26 October 2026, Goodwood appears on the learner's and light-vehicle waiting-time tables and does not appear under heavy vehicles or motorcycles (City waiting times).
- Fines. The Goodwood DLTC page lists fine payments. The City's separate fine page, read the same day, lists traffic centres that take in-person payments and does not name Goodwood (it does name Milnerton and Gallows Hill, among others). ⚠️ If you are going only to pay a fine, phone 0860 103 089 first. Admin marks are a different job: the fine page says to clear one in person at Gallows Hills DLTC in Green Point, not at Goodwood. Phone 0860 103 089 option 4, or 021 444 3311, or email [email protected]. (City – Pay your traffic fine, Gallows Hill guide)
5. How a visit to Goodwood goes
For the national step-by-step, see the hub. The City does not publish the order of windows at Goodwood, so this is the documented process plus what recent public reports describe. Reports are unverified.
- Go before the card expires if you can. The City publishes R140 before expiry and R185 after. A temporary licence is a separate line at R45. The City does not say whether the R185 already includes that R45 (see §4).
- Do not book a "licence renewal" on the City's appointment site and expect to skip the queue. On the renewal page, online booking is for registering or renewing a motor vehicle licence, paying a municipal account, enquiries, or account arrangements (bookings.capetown.gov.za). A public review dated 3 Apr 2024 says an online booking for a licence disc at Goodwood meant no queue. That is the disc office, not the card. Treat the card renewal as walk-in. The City's 8 Feb 2025 release says an online appointment system has been piloted in certain provinces, and that card renewals in Cape Town can be done at any metro DLTC. It does not put Goodwood card renewals on a booking system.
- Arrive before 08:00 on a weekday, or early Saturday (the published Saturday close is 12:30). The City says to set aside 2–3 hours. A review dated 21 Feb 2026 describes a driver's licence renewal application in about half an hour, and collection in about 10 minutes. A Hellopeter review dated 24 Jul 2026 says a driver's licence renewal took 30 minutes. A Reddit comment on 7 Jan 2026 says Goodwood was "pretty quick", with no time given. Another on 24 May 2026 calls it well run, again with no time. Those are single reports. They are not a City standard.
- Take the documents in §4, your current card, and a pen.
- Eye test, photo and fingerprints, then pay. Keep the receipt. If the card is already expired, ask for the temporary driving licence at the same time. The City says a temporary licence is valid for six months or until the new card is issued. Do not rely on a private optometrist's certificate to skip the eye test (see §4).
- Leave. The card is printed nationally and comes back to this centre. You cannot collect a Goodwood application at Milnerton, Gallows Hill, or the vehicle registration counter.
Collection: come back to Goodwood DLTC with your ID once the card is ready. Check first by SMS or on NaTIS (hub §8). The City destroys cards not collected within 120 days.
Disc and registration queues are not this queue. Hellopeter reviews dated 30 Oct 2025 and 15 Oct 2026 describe long waits for a car licence disc or for vehicle registration, including a ticket system and dealer work at the counter. Those reviews are about licensing and registration, not a driver's licence card. Use the Hugo Street vehicle registration centre for a disc.
Saturday: the City DLTC page publishes Saturday hours and does not say that renewals stop on Saturday. ⚠️ If you are here for a test, phone 0860 103 089 before you rely on a Saturday slot.
6. If something goes wrong at Goodwood
General errors (NaTIS "province not added", eNaTIS outages, card delays) are on the hub. Local escalation:
- Centre supervisor or manager on the spot. The City says complaints "may be lodged with the management of each DLTC" (City).
- City Traffic Services: 0860 103 089 / [email protected]. Have your receipt number, date and time ready.
- Admin mark specifically: this is not a Goodwood counter. 0860 103 089 option 4 / 021 444 3311 / [email protected], in person at Gallows Hills (fine page).
- Western Cape Government driving licence helpdesk: 021 483 0520 / 6401 / 2469 / 2080 / 2078 (WCG).
No Goodwood-specific outage notice was found for late October 2026. The countrywide eNaTIS outage on 6 Oct 2026 would have stopped card renewals here along with every other centre.
The older Western Cape Government facility page for Goodwood Traffic Department returned 404 on 30 Oct 2026, so it is not linked below. Use the City page.
Never pay "runners" or anyone outside the official cashier.
7. Is Goodwood the right centre? Nearby alternatives
You can renew a card at any City of Cape Town DLTC (City release, 8 Feb 2025), but you collect where you applied. Goodwood is the City's centre for this part of the northern suburbs. These other centres also list licence renewals. Milnerton and Gallows Hill hours below were confirmed on their City pages on 29 Oct 2026; Goodwood's own hours were reconfirmed on 30 Oct 2026. Parow and Bellrail were not rechecked today.
| Centre | Address | Guide | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Milnerton DLTC | William Penn Drive, Milnerton | Renewal guide | City |
| Gallows Hill DLTC | Cnr Ebenezer and Somerset roads, Green Point | Renewal guide | City |
| Parow DLTC | Cnr Jan Smuts Street and Beacon Road, Parow Valley | Coming | City |
| Bellrail DLTC | Bellrail Road, Bellville | Coming | City |
Published hours at Milnerton and Gallows Hill, when those pages were last read, were the same as Goodwood: Mon–Fri 08:00–15:30, Sat 08:00–12:30.
All Western Cape centres: /licensing/western-cape/.
About the City's "waiting times" table: those weekly figures are for learner's and driving test bookings, not card renewals. As at 26 October 2026, Goodwood showed 41 days for a learner's test and 79 days for a light-vehicle test. Goodwood is not on the heavy-vehicle or motorcycle tables (City waiting times). Useful if you are booking a Code B test. They say nothing about the renewal queue on the day you walk in. In December 2024 the City reported Goodwood's driving-licence test turnaround as 89 days (City release, 8 Feb 2025). That figure is older than the 26 Oct 2026 table.
8. Sources (last checked 30 Oct 2026, SAST)
Official:
- City of Cape Town, Goodwood DLTC (address, hours, Code B tests, services, phone): https://www.capetown.gov.za/family-and-home/see-all-city-facilities/our-service-facilities/drivers-licence-testing-centres/goodwood-driving-licence-testing-centre/
- City of Cape Town, DLTC index (18 centres; load-shedding note; no zone named for Goodwood): https://www.capetown.gov.za/Family%20and%20home/see-all-city-facilities/our-service-facilities/Drivers%20licence%20testing%20centres
- City of Cape Town, Goodwood Vehicle Registration Centre (Hugo Street; Sat 12:30; Sundays and public holidays closed): https://www.capetown.gov.za/family-and-home/see-all-city-facilities/our-service-facilities/motor-vehicle-registration-centres/goodwood-vehicle-registration-centre/
- City of Cape Town, renewal (documents, R140 / R185 / R45, DL1, 120-day note, online booking scope): https://www.capetown.gov.za/city-connect/apply/licences-and-permits/driving-and-vehicles/apply-for-a-new-or-replacement-drivers-licence/
- City of Cape Town, Learners and drivers licences (2–3 hours, 120-day destruction, complaints): https://www.capetown.gov.za/work-and-business/transport-and-vehicles/vehicles-and-driving/learner-and-drivers-licenses/
- City of Cape Town, Waiting times (as at 26 Oct 2026): https://www.capetown.gov.za/family-and-home/transport-and-vehicles/vehicles-and-driving/waiting-times-for-drivers-licence-tests/
- City of Cape Town, Pay your traffic fine (in-person centre list omits Goodwood; admin marks at Gallows Hills; payment methods for fines): https://www.capetown.gov.za/City-Connect/Pay/Driving-and-vehicles/Fines/Pay-your-traffic-fine
- City of Cape Town, "DLTCs drive to ease the wait" (8 Feb 2025; renewals at any City DLTC; Goodwood test wait in Dec 2024): https://www.capetown.gov.za/media-and-news/dltcs-drive-to-ease-the-wait/
- City online bookings: https://bookings.capetown.gov.za/
- Western Cape Government, Driving licence (R140 card issue, R45 temporary, photos, helpdesk): https://www.westerncape.gov.za/mobility/service/driving-licence
- City pages for Milnerton, Gallows Hill, Parow and Bellrail DLTCs (links in §7)
Media / secondary (reported, not official):
- Aggregated public listing and reviews of Goodwood Traffic Department (hours match the City; Sunday closed; reviews dated 2024–2026; 1,374 reviews and a 4.0 rating on that page; phone 021 444 7151 is not on the City page): https://exa.ai/library/place/2m711klxw41
- Hellopeter, Traffic Department Goodwood (1.6 from 5 reviews in the last 12 months as read on 30 Oct 2026; 24 Jul 2026 card renewal; 30 Oct 2025 and 15 Oct 2026 are disc/registration queues): https://www.hellopeter.com/traffic-department-goodwood
- Reddit, r/capetown, 7 Jan 2026 ("pretty quick", no duration): https://www.reddit.com/r/capetown/comments/1q5xjci/drivers_license_renewal/
- Reddit, r/capetown, 24 May 2026 ("really well run", no duration): https://www.reddit.com/r/capetown/comments/1tmg83h/drivers_license_renewal/
- K53 South Africa (021 590 1570 and [email protected]; not on the City page): https://k-53.co.za/test-centres/goodwood-dltc
- Official Motus K53 directory PDF, file path dated August 2025 (same unofficial phone and email; weekday hours only in that row): https://www.officialmotusk53.co.za/wp-content/uploads/2025/08/WESTERN-CAPE-DLTC.pdf
The Western Cape Government facility URL https://d7.westerncape.gov.za/facility/goodwood-traffic-department returned 404 on 30 Oct 2026. It is omitted as a source.
National sources (eQueue, RTMC, gov.za, card printing) are on the hub page.